Table 2—

World Health Organization classification of chronic myeloproliferative diseases

1. Myeloproliferative neoplasms
 1.1 Chronic myelogenous leukaemia, BCR-ABL1 positive
 1.2 Polycythaemia vera
 1.3 Essential thrombocythaemia
 1.4 Primary myelofibrosis
 1.5 Chronic neutrophilic leukaemia
 1.6 Chronic eosinophilic leukaemia, not otherwise specified (CEL-NOS)
 1.7 Mast cell disease
 1.8 Myeloproliferative neoplasms, unclassifiable
2. Myeloid and lymphoid neoplasms with eosinophilia and abnormalities of PDGFRA, PDGFRB, and FGFR1
3. Myelodysplastic syndromes/myeloproliferative neoplasms
 3.1 Chronic myelomonocytic leukaemia
 3.2 Juvenile myelomonocytic leukaemia
3.3 Atypical chronic myeloid leukaemia, BCR-ABL negative
3.4 Myelodysplastic syndromes/myeloproliferative neoplasms, unclassifiable
4. Myelodysplastic syndromes
5. Acute myeloid leukaemia
  • BCR-ABL: break-point mutation-Abelson; PDGFRA: α-type platelet-derived growth factor receptor; PDGFRB: β-type platelet-derived growth factor receptor; FGFR1: fibroblast growth factor receptor 1.